Food glorious food…

I just wanted to post a couple of pics of the food we’ve had this week.

First was the absolutely delicious pumpkin pie cake thingie I got from the SSoS forums – Popcorn you are a legend!  This is obviously the baked version, but I am posting Popcorn’s recipe as is :)

20130503_150256

served with strawberries and sprinkled with coconut for decoration

1 cup canned pumpkin (just pure pumpkin)
1 scoop protein powder
splash vanilla
1/2 tsp cinnamon
dash of cloves
dash ginger
pinch salt
2T coconut cream
(I sometimes add a homegrown egg yolk)

Whisk together rapidly and let chill in the fridge for an hour.  Tastes just like a  fresh pumpkin pie pudding.

This recipe also adapts to a cooked pie recipe, by dropping the coconut cream and whisking in 1 whole egg. Bake in a ovenproof bowl for 15 or 20 minutes.  Equals a serving of vegetables and a serving of protein.

The second was this veggie tian that I was originally inspired to make by this.  I’ve altered it though so it’s…

20130503_1431161 large onion diced
4 cloves of garlic, minced (I like lots of garlic)
A big butternut pumpkin sliced
3 Zucchini cut in thirds and sliced long ways
4 Tomatoes sliced
salt and pepper to taste
Italian herbs and parmesan cheese to sprinkle on top.

Cook the onion and garlic and some of the italian herbs in the fry pan and then put on the bottom of the dish.  Arranged the sliced veggies however you like and then sprinkle with cheese and herbs (and some salt and pepper if you like).

Cover with aluminium foil and bake at 350F for 30 mins and then take off the foil and bake for another 30 mins.

20130501_161153

This is another of my typical roasts.  I’m slowly making it more non-starchy veg by adding capsicum (Bell Pepper?  don’t ask me what it is in french lol),  brussel sprouts and a little bit of apple in this one.

There are no almonds in this – they were for the coleslaw that I’ve morphed into something like one of Carrie’s lovely makes.  It’s my regular coleslaw but now served with shaved turkey (cold) and almonds – YUM!

20130502_173449

Finally I wanted to show you something cool.  I haven’t removed pasta and breads and things from my kids diet.  They are fit, healthy and active kids and they cope well with their current diet.  I made them some mac, ham and cheese the other day (properly, not out of a packet) and served it up on their new plates.  

I also had another plate on the table that was the same veg and a couple more eggs.

Can you guess what I had to scrape off the plates after dinner??

20130502_180402

That‘s right!  The pasta!!  Even to the point that the little one picked out most of the ham too!  

Look at that plate.  All the veg and the egg gone (almost), maybe one spoon of pasta eaten.  I have to say I’m pretty proud!!

Anywho, enjoy the rest of your weekend.  I hope your have some yummy dishes planned and if you find any good recipes please share them!!

This entry was posted in Yummy things to eat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food glorious food…

  1. Pingback: Pancakes!! | Healthy Intentions

Leave a Reply

